THE POWER OF FRUIT, IMPOSSIBLE IS NOTHING…

God is faithful

God is faithful, but are we? Are we living in the impossible, living a life which glorifies Him? Are we allowing God to be God? These are but a few questions that came to mind as I sat in church hearing one of the most challenging messages I have ever heard.

Up front I cannot take credit for this post, not that I ever can, as I always try to let God speak through me and not my own words. What is to follow is what came through my pastor and this is merely a collection of what I recall him saying and what God said to me through my pastor. In fitting with the series on the fruit of the Spirit, I thought this message was perfect for encouraging us all (Myself included), in “Faithfulness,” as I know this is an area I and many others need to work on! So what was this message I heard you may be asking?

The message titled “Dare to live the impossible,” started in 1 Chronicles, a rather large genealogy, with Jabez being the only name further elaborated on, we see this in 1 Chronicles 4:9-10.

“Jabez was more honorable than his brothers. His mother had named him Jabez, saying, “I gave birth to him in pain.” Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, “Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.” And God granted his request.”

We see that God answers when we believe. He immediately responded to Jabez’s faith, “And God granted his request.” You see Jabez had faith for the impossible, to be separated from his name. He wanted to be blessed and be free from pain, rather hard, actually impossible for a guy whose name actually means born from pain. The great thing is that God took notice of his faith and made the impossible possible.

When the impossible comes true in our life, that’s when God gets the glory!  We are meant to live a life that reflects impossibility. So often though, we limit God by the excuses we make, by the limit we place on our faith. Too often we create a plan B, afraid that plan A won’t come through. In doing so we are falling on our excuses, “I’m a sinner,” “I don’t have enough faith,” “If it doesn’t happen, my faith will be shaken,” “I have to do more good,” I don’t believe this can be done, I’ve never seen it before,” “What happens if others see my faith fail, how will I be representing Christ then.”

All of the above, however are seeds of doubt, planted to limit our faith. We need to realise this and rather feed our faith. As we know that “faithfulness” is a fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22-23), doubt isn’t. We need to hold on to plan A in faith, for if we don’t believe the best of God, that we wants us to have, and bless us with plan A, then how can we expect to get the best from God?

How do we then live in the impossible?

1) Establish a proper understanding of who God is and what He can do.
This relates to the point made above. If we don’t believe that God wants us to succeed, how can we receive success? For one receives what one asks for in faith (Matthew 21:22). See it is not that God does not want us to succeed, it is not that He doesn’t want to do miracles in our lives, but rather that He cannot when we limit Him. In Mark 6:5-6 we read how “He could not do any miracles … He was amazed at their lack of faith.” You see our perceptions of what God can do will decide whether He can work in our lives or not. If you believe He cannot or you are too scared to believe for any of the reasons mentioned earlier, then now is the time to lift the limits we place on God.

2) The impossible is born out of desperation.
There is a difference between desire and desperation. We need to be desperate for God to work in our lives. We need to be desperate for Him to bring forth plan A in our lives, for if we are only desiring plan A, it will not take much for us to desire plan B more, and this should not be. We see an example of a desperate man in Mark 2:1-5 NLT. Just desiring Jesus to work in his life would not have him healed. He was desperate for plan A to be fully healed! He had the support of his friends, as he desperately seeked Jesus, others may have mocked and even thought he was crazy and that he should rather have resorted to plan B, but He was desperate, and that is what got him to do what others wouldn’t, in doing so catching the attention of Jesus, from whom he received his plan A. What are you desperate for Jesus to do in your life?

3) The impossible takes place when we let go of the stuff that’s holding us back.
Let go of the doubt, let go of the insecurities you may have. Hebrews 12:1 NLT tells us to “strip off every weight that slows us down,” now this can be a number of things from sin, to friends who don’t share the same faith as us, to doubt over who we are to God. The thing you are thinking of now is the thing that is most likely slowing you down. When we hold onto what we think is possible, it allows no room for God to show us what is possible with Him. We need to let go of old possibilities and make way for the new impossible possibilities.

4) We need to dare to:
– Pray impossible prayers
The key here is it all starts with us daring. One cannot dare if one is still holding on, and that’s why letting go is so important in our lives.

Impossible prayers are a reflection of our faith and belief in His promises. How big are your prayers? Are they scary prayers? I know for me, they weren’t as big as they could have been. Encouraged by a friend, I have since created my “Impossible prayer list.” This list is simply a written declaration of the  things I am believing God for, not things for ‘survival’ but prayers that scare me, for when they come to be, my life will but only be a testament of His glory. Why are they scary you may ask? They are scary because if God doesn’t come through, I will have nothing. No plan B. I know though, that my faith will leave a legacy behind for others to believe. So I encourage you to do the same today. Pray for the impossible. Believe for the impossible.

– Take impossible risks
Not stupid ones. The difference is God’s guidance. If you have prayed and God answered yes, then by all means take the risk, do what others think will be impossible. For remember with God it will be possible. On the opposite side of the same coin if God says no, or not yet, don’t take the stupid risk and still try. He knows best and it would be stupid not to listen to Him. (Isaiah 55:8-9)

– Have impossible faith
When others cannot see you fulfilling your dreams, when even you believe they have been lost, have the faith to make them a reality (Hebrews 11:1 NCV).

5) The impossible is possible in the name of Jesus.
He has authority over everything (Matthew 28:18). So when we pray and declare “In the name of Jesus – Amen,” believe that under His authority it is done. The impossible, now possible.

He is capable of so much more than we could ever do alone. I hope you are encouraged to believe this!

Photo credit: http://sheddinglightonthepath.blogspot.com/2012/12/believing-in-faithful-god.html

Part one – The power of fruit, how that makes sense…
Part two – The power of fruit, oh joy?!
Part three – The power of fruit, don’t throw it at me, I come in peace
Part four – The power of fruit, caught…
Part five – The power of fruit, when it is there…
Part six – The power of fruit, kindly accept…
Part seven – The power of fruit, good aim…
Part nine – The power of fruit, gentleness is power under control…

6 responses to “THE POWER OF FRUIT, IMPOSSIBLE IS NOTHING…

  1. Thank you once again for your awesome blog. I have been watching out for your latest blog. (Have a look at my latest one I would love your opinion on it).

  2. I thought “This is so me” when I read all the statements and questions you had listed as seeds of doubt. This post has greatly helped me to realise why we ask such questions and why we shouldn’t ask them anymore.”We need to let go of old possibilities and make way for the new impossible possibilities.”- how powerful are these words!! I thank God for using your pastor and you as instruments in bringing this message to us. I’m sure many are going to be blessed, even more, transformed! Thank you!

  3. Pingback: THE POWER OF FRUIT, GENTLENESS IS POWER UNDER CONTROL… | thepowerof1blog·

  4. Pingback: THE POWER OF FRUIT, CONTROL YOURSELF… | thepowerof1blog·

Leave a Reply

